疾病,意识和达米安神父

天宇圣约翰2009年8月25日

有一个文章昨天的报纸上 ,有关达米安神父和他即将到来的册封。 我曾在卡劳帕帕超过两年的时间作为一名护士,让我很感兴趣。 达米安一直是我个人的,​​精神的英雄之一,这就是为什么我想在香港工作; 我想达到同样的人,他做到了,他在那里做了居住,走在土地他的方式。

我开始思考Damien的生活,而事实上,他死于麻风病(或现在更正确,麻风病),最有可能为他与他的那些伺候亲密接触的结果。 我教的,我们的身体是我们意识的外包工和完美的健康是谁,我们真的是一个神圣的理念,神的完美的视觉。 疾病,那么,是最经常被视为一个需要治愈的缺陷或什么的。 这是棘手的适合我,因为它涉及到我的克星:判断。 在一路的,集体的“我们”都判断为“病”是一件坏事; 我们意识的一些地区,是错误的反映。 我觉得达米安的生活教别的东西。

达米安的父亲爱他的人,他所有的心脏和灵魂。 我可以想像,他想没有什么比让他们知道跟上帝和彼此深深的连接。 我可以想像,他一定觉得他们有些分离,首先,作为一个“haole”(高加索),然后作为一个“好”的人。

理查德·马克斯,卡劳帕帕的居民,告诉我如何达透露,他的病给他的教区居民的故事。 他开始了他的讲道星期天的话:“我们麻风病人......”他在最后一和他的羊群。 多么伟大的爱情很是带他到那个地方有这样的风度和奇迹。

所以,他的病竟是爱情的至高行为,合一的最终姿态。 那么如何,我可以把这种意识的缺陷? 怎么会这样的错误思想的体现?

我有朋友现在谁与癌症和其他疾病作斗争。 从现在开始,我拒绝看到他们在某种程度上有缺陷或不愈。 我要去寻找爱情,在深远,教训他们的病情带来等等。 我会看到他们的完美,在最后。

comments… read them below or add one } {10评论...阅读下面他们或者添加一个 }

芭芭拉Eberhrt 2009年8月25日在上午10点21分

这是一个“我们”节目! 我觉得我学到最不被谈了,但是被谈了。

感谢您的洞察疾病。 一些“疾病”可以帮助我们学习,(忍耐,宽恕,谦卑)和一些可以帮助我们帮助。 有些“病”迫使我们去实践我们的精神就像我们
生活依赖于它 - 因为它确实。 整个恢复计划是基于“立足每天死缓
在维护一种精神的连接“。 在这种情况下,什么礼物!

阿罗哈,芭芭拉

PS。 这个博客是开心!

萨莉A.莱舍 2009年8月28日上午9:50

在最近的假期从我的美丽的海岛(岛屿卡马诺,WA)到你我知道的一件事,我想要做的是在你的教会参加服务。 我曾访问过那里20年前,和平,祝福神充满地方的记忆一直伴随着我所有的那些年。 我和姐姐参加了8月9日的服务是一切,我知道这将是。 由于众向我们提出我们的kikui螺母异色,然后举手祝福在我的心脏的祈祷膨胀用爱为他们每个人的和被在神圣的地方再次礼物。 该内存将留在我身边始终。 当我想到上帝的爱,我认为统一。 随着统一教会西雅图多年成员,我来真正理解上帝,要能只是爱 - 没有任何边框,准则,规则或条例。 我怎么感觉自由在我的信念。 我该怎么开我承认,真正看到神在我周围 - 在每一个人,每一件事。 这是团结的礼物送给我这些年以前,它是今天鲜活,因为它是在我在西雅图参加了教堂的第一天。 一个小男孩穿着一件浅绿色西装跑了迟到和我坐下。 当我们唱起“让有爱”和联手他给recogition我们是一个我的手额外的爱挤,我知道,我已经找到了我精神上的“家”,一个地方,人们可以在出席水中慢跑西装,接受和喜爱。 阿罗哈在教会你们每个人。 你很幸运有天空和美丽的教堂。 怎能不这样的地方认识神。
我皈依伊斯兰教,三年前,作为一个穆斯林我还是觉得在家里的统一。 谢谢你给了我生命记忆和为是我去檀香山的亮点。
莎莉莱舍

菲利斯O'Shields -琼斯 2009年11月16日在上午11点29分

漂亮的洞察力,谢谢你的分享。 享受你的鸣叫和您的博客。 住在Kialua几年,爱夏威夷,希望回到作为一个家庭有一天......马洛菲利斯O'Shields - 琼斯

文档穆尔 二零零九年十一月十六日在下午5点22分

谢谢你在Twitter上的跟随。 我4年癌症幸存者。 我很愿意分享我的我是如何被保存,并通过主医治的故事。 我的丈夫是一个牧师。 我很想起身出来与大家共享。 我是一个活生生的见证。 我是一个作家和一个激励人心的演说。

感谢您与我分享的博客。

恩恩,
谢里·摩尔
817-247-9346

韦斯·霍珀 2009年12月11日在上午11时17分

什么是多么容易没有意识到这一点来判断一个很大的提醒。 我忘了,“这一切都很好”,所以很容易尽管一切已经证明,否则我的经验。 感谢您分享一个很有力的例证。

桑德拉·霍珀 2009年12月12日在上午4时38分

美妙的消息,天空,一个为我记住。 释放的判断和被爱。 谢谢。

温斯洛 2010年1月15日在下午5时17分

当我住在美丽的夏威夷(太简单)Makia圣马洛来告诉我工作在学校的故事,我学到了很多关于麻风病和讲故事,夏威夷左右,约疾病,约完善。 我的疾病到目前为止是向内,并且它是不可见的但它是作为物理的人曾经是中伤。 但是看了你的帖子亲爱的,实现,甚至有抑郁症,我是完美的。 通过它,我已经学会不只是同情 - 但同情。 如果我看到这与你的洞察力,我意识到这是一个巨大的礼物。 谢谢。

安吉拉·奥尔森 2010年1月19日在上午11点42

感谢你为这个精彩的故事与洞察疾病在我们的肉体身体的意义。 我旅行精神的道路,一直想知道什么,我一直在做的错,只是我还没有想通了,让我锁定在有如此多的身体疾病的机构。 虽然我能够理解我们所有的幸福和统一性,我们是有一个人的经验鬼神的想法,我只能够进步远远不够明白,我的疾病已经给我,说已经允许的礼物我要成为富有同情心,给那人今天的我。 我真的做到现在明白了,我的生命的目的是为人类服务,而我试图找到各种方式,我可以做到这一点。 然而,我仍然有这样的感觉挥之不去,有东西,我已经失踪,让我在这个身体不适状态。 应该不是我能,如果我已经解决了我所有的问题得到医治,我想? 你的文章已经从自我判断这个包袱放了我。 我会继续我的旅程,但我不会允许自己来判断自己这么严厉了! 感谢你为这个版本。 合十礼“

2010年4月20日在11:14

哇..什么奇妙的魔术,这是......这会让爱到所有的情况,而像你说的天空凯瑟琳思考会谈。 看到他们作为一个整体和完整天父会看到我们。

如此强大。 谢谢。

特里萨·洛特 2011年5月11日在下午6时56分

一个LOHA转。 天空,是的是我。 我想学习如何使用电脑,所以裸陪我。 我希望你收到这一点。 我错过了你和众这么多!!!!!!!!! 我参加在这里团结在拉斯维加斯转。 的家伙。 他是伟大的,但他是不是你和心不是假设是,但我得到这么饮誉当我听到你说话。 我将努力让你的服务上周日(其中至少一个)相连。 我希望你身体健康和精神。 如果你看到这位女士(马里)我用坐在一起,请从我给她一个拥抱。 那么它是越来越晚了这里,所以我会换我的笔记。 请回复,所以我就知道你收到了... ..

发表评论

上一篇:

下一篇:

Illness, Consciousness, and Father Damien

by Sky St. John on August 25, 2009

There was an article in yesterday’s newspaper, about Father Damien and his impending canonization. I worked in Kalaupapa over a two-year period as a nurse, so I was interested. Damien has long been one of my personal, spiritual heroes, which is why I wanted to work in the colony; I wanted to serve the same people he did, lived where he did, and walk the land the way he did.

I started to think about Damien’s life, and the fact that he succumbed to leprosy (or the now more correct, Hansen’s Disease), most likely as a result of his close contact with those he ministered to. I teach that our bodies are the outworking of our consciousness and that perfect health is a Divine Idea—God’s flawless vision of who we really are. Disease, then, is most often seen as a defect or something that needs to be healed. This is tricky for me because it involves my nemesis: judgment. Somewhere along the way, the collective “we” have judged “disease” as a bad thing; a reflection of some area of our consciousness that is in error. I think Damien’s life teaches something else.

Father Damien loved his people with all his heart and soul. I can imagine that he wanted nothing more than for them to know a deep connection with God and each other. I can imagine that he must have felt some separation from them, first, as a “haole” (Caucasian), and then as a “well” person.

Richard Marks, a resident of Kalaupapa, told me the story of how Damien revealed his illness to his parishioners. He began his Sunday homily with the words: “We lepers…” He was, at last, one with his flock. What a great love it was that brought him to that place with such grace and wonder.

So his illness was actually a supreme act of love, an ultimate gesture of oneness. How then, could I call this a defect of consciousness? How could this be a manifestation of error thinking?

I have friends now who struggle with cancer and other illnesses. From now on, I refuse to see them as somehow flawed or unhealed. I’m going to look for the love, the reaching, lessons that their condition is bringing forth. I will see them perfect—at last.

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

Barbara Eberhrt August 25, 2009 at 10:21 am

It’s a “we” program! I find I learn most Not from being talked AT, but from being talked WITH.

Thank You for your insight into disease. Some ‘diseases’ can help us learn, (patience, forgiveness, humility) and some can help us Help. Some ‘diseases’ force us to practice our spirituality like our
life depends on it – because it Does. The whole Recovery program is based on ‘a daily reprieve based
on maintenance of a spiritual connection’. In that case, what a gift!

aloha, Barbara

ps. this blog thing is fun!

Sally A. Lesher August 28, 2009 at 9:50 am

On a recent vacation from my beautiful island (Camano Island, WA) to yours I knew that the one thing I wanted to do was to attend service in your church. I had visited there 20 years ago and the memory of that peaceful, blessed and God-filled place stayed with me all those years. The service my sister and I attended on August 9th was everything I knew it would be. As the congregation presented us with our kikui nut leis and then raised their hands in a prayer of blessing my heart swelled with love for each of them and for the gift of being in that holy place once again. The memory will stay with me always. When I think of God’s love I think of Unity. As a member of the Unity Church of Seattle for many years I came to truly understand God and to be able to simply love – without any borders, guidelines, rules or regulations. How free I feel in my belief. How open I am to recognize and truly see God all around me – in every person and every thing. This was the gift Unity gave me all those years ago and it is as fresh and alive today as it was on that first day I attended the church in Seattle. A young boy wearing an aqua running suit had arrived late and sat by me . When we sang “Let There Be Love” and joined hands he gave my hand that extra squeeze of love, of recogition that we are one, and I knew that I had found my spiritual “home,” a place where people can attend in an aqua jogging suit and be accepted and loved. Aloha to each of you in the church. You are blessed to have Sky and that beautiful chapel. How could one NOT know God in such a place.
I converted to Islam three years ago and as a Muslim I still felt at home in Unity. Thank you for giving me a memory for life and for being the highlight of my trip to Honolulu.
Sally Lesher

Phyllis O'Shields-Jones November 16, 2009 at 11:29 am

Beautiful insight, thank you for sharing. Enjoying your tweets and your blog. Lived in Kialua for a few years and love Hawaii, hope to return as a home some day… Mahalo Phyllis O’Shields-Jones

Doc Moore November 16, 2009 at 5:22 pm

Thank you for the follow on twitter. I am a cancer survivor of 4 years. I would love to share my story of how I was saved and healed by the Lord. My husband is a Pastor. I would love to get up and out and share. I am a living testimony. I am an author and a motivational speaker.

Thank you for sharing the blog with me.

Blessings,
Cheri Moore
817-247-9346

Wes Hopper December 11, 2009 at 11:17 am

What a great reminder of how easy it is to judge without realizing it. I forget that “it’s all good” so easily in spite of all the experiences that have shown me otherwise. Thanks for sharing a very powerful example.

Sandra Hopper December 12, 2009 at 4:38 am

Wonderful message, Sky, and one for me to remember. Release judgment and be love. Thanks.

Winslow January 15, 2010 at 5:17 pm

When I lived in beautiful Hawaii (all too briefly) Makia Malo came to tell stories at the school where I worked and I learned so much about Hansen’s disease and storytelling, about Hawai’i, about illness, about perfection. My ailment so far is inward, and it is invisible yet it is as maligned as physical ones used to be. But I read your dear post and realized, even with depression, I am perfect. Through it, I have learned not just compassion – but empathy. If I see this with your insight, I realize it is a tremendous gift. Thank you.

Angela Olsen January 19, 2010 at 11:42 am

Thank you for this wonderful story with its insight into the meaning of disease in our corporeal bodies. I am traveling a spiritual path and have been wondering what I have been doing wrong, just what I have not figured out that keeps me locked in a body that has so many physical ailments. Although I am able to understand the Oneness of all our being and the idea that we are spiritual beings having a human experience, I have only been able to progress far enough to understand that my ailments have been given to me as a gift that has allowed me to become the compassionate, giving person that I am today. I truly do understand now that the purpose of my life is service to mankind, and I try to find every way that I can to do that. Yet, I still have had that nagging sense that there was something that I have been missing that keeps me in this physically ill state. Shouldn’t I be able to be healed if I have addressed all my issues, I thought? Your article has released me from this burden of self-judgment. I will continue on my journey, but I won’t allow myself to judge myself so harshly any more! Thank you for this release. Namaste’

Ash April 20, 2010 at 11:14 am

Wow.. what wonderful magic this is… Catherine Ponder talks about putting love into all situations, and like what you say Sky. See them as whole and complete as the Father would see us.

So powerful. Thank you.

theresa lott May 11, 2011 at 6:56 pm

a loha rev. sky, yep it is me. i am trying to learn how to use the computer, so bare with me. i hope you receive this note. i have missed you and the congregation so much!!!!!!!!! i attend unity here in las vegas rev. guy. he is great but he is not you and isnt suppose to be but i get so jazzed when i hear you speak. i will try to get connected with your service on sunday(at least one of them). i hope you are in good health and spirits. if you see the lady(mari) i use to sit with please give her a hug from me. well it is getting late here so i will wrap up my note. please reply so i will know that you received this…..

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: